Author of a Timeless Classic – Emily Brontë


30th July 2018 – Emily Brontë’s 200th birthday

Wuthering Heights was Emily Brontë’s only novel which is now recognized as a Gothic literary classic and it is heartbreaking to think that she died one year after finishing it… aged 30.

Weathing heights.jpg

Wuthering Heights was written under Emily’s pen name of Ellis Bell.  It was not uncommon for women in the 1840’s to write under a man’s name as shockingly at the time women were perceived as frivolous creatures, their intellectual capacities well below that of a man. 😠

The nom de plumes of the Brontë sisters were Acton Bell, Ellis Bell and Currer Bell.  So much talent under one roof in the village of Haworth, on the Yorkshire Moors and they had to disguise their true identities.  In 1847 Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, and Agnes Grey were all published as debut novels.


The Parsonage in Haworth.  Home of the Brontë sisters.  So much talent under one roof where so many literary classics were penned.  Photo Credit:  Sarah Mason


Wuthering Heights was not well received at the time as it tackled religious hypocrisy, morality, social classes and gender inequality, which shocked the tightly corsetted Victorians,  but it remains a timeless classic which encompasses turbulent human emotions.

“I have dreamt in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind. And this is one:  I’m going to tell it – but take care not to smile at any part of it.”
Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights



Thank you very much for visiting my niche-less blog! If you have time before you leave, would love you to tell us what you think. All the best, Tessa Barrie

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: